Poets logo

Ying Yang of Tears

Ying Yang of Tears

By Owen NichollsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Tears come to your eyes,

At the wail of a new life

Entering the world.

Smiles bend our face,

At the sound a gurgling laugh.

A band-aid and kiss,

For the tears of a skinned knee.

From babble, to words to sentences.

Swells us with pride.

Spontaneous hugs and kisses,

A simple declaration of “I love you”.

Our hearts melts with love.

From youthful playfulness,

And the occasional tantrum of tears.

Over the denial of some caprice demand.

In the teen years we begin to see the rages,

And fury build up like a volcano,

Till eventually erupts, spewing forth

Words they know will hurt us to our souls.

“I HATE YOU”

Followed by the tears and a slammed door.

If we are lucky this is the by-product of puberty.

If handled correctly the relationship continues into adulthood.

As it the relationship we build with our children as they grow

Determines the relationship we will share with them as adults.

As we have a duty to give them the best start we can till adulthood.

They did not decide to enter this world we owe them that much.

After that we are square.

We owe them nothing more

And they owe us no debts or servitude.

From the scars we have received on our souls.

This is the Ying of our tears.

I open my eyes and wail at the cold and in fear.

But soon am swaddled snugly in a blanket

Wrapped in arms against a chest,

Hearing that familiar heart beat

Fall asleep contentedly feeling safe and loved.

That had soothed me for my life so far.

I get tickled and squeal with laughter,

Making your eyes and face smile.

In turn this makes me laugh more.

Crying out in pain at some play gone wrong.

Love, a kiss and a magic sticky

From you makes it all better.

Time goes one I have more and more thoughts

Feelings that differ from what you tell me.

You keep telling me I am wrong or am bad.

My heart and soul rage again the injustice

Building and building until I can take it no more.

Shouting out what I know what would hurt you most.

“I HATE YOU’

Not that I truly meant it

Just a desperate act to relieve the hurt in my soul.

There more of these times and events

As I grow older I look back at the things you have done for me.

I am glad for the friendship we have.

Although I have scars of the hurts done to me.

At your death I shed tears at your passing.

Memories reflecting all the worst I had ever said.

Saying a last heartfelt "I'm Sorry, I LoveYou"

Which you don't hear.

These are the Yang of my tears.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Owen Nicholls

I have worked in the IT industry for over 30 years. Poetry grabbed my attention at an early age when I was going to elocution lessons and my teacher found that reading out poetry was perhaps the best method.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.