Poets logo

Yeah, I'm Selfish

But I'd never hold any of it against you

By Kay HusnickPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

How many nights did I stay up later than I wanted to, later than I should have, to comfort or encourage you -- whatever it was you needed?

How many times did I go out of my way to be there for you when I was already out with somebody else or when I had other things to do?

How many things in your room are from me or because of me?

I am entitled to the ability to tell my own narrative whether you like the way it portrays you or not

And the kicker is that even after everything we've been through and everything you've said, every word I've written has been kind

I have praised you the way the Mayans praised the sun, defended your every action even when you were choosing to destroy me

You can listen to others' words twisting around my own and trust them more regardless of the fact you know me better

I understand

My reaction has always been the opposite. Argue or believe anyone else over me, I will believe you no matter what you say

And you don't deserve that, but I don't deserve this, and here we are anyway.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.