Poets logo

X's & O's and Lonely Crossroads

By Bria Fairchild

By Bria FairchildPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
X's & O's and Lonely Crossroads
Photo by Einar Storsul on Unsplash

It's the same dream every night

I'm standing at a crossroad

To my left it is dark and I can't make out the path

To my right it is light but jagged rocks rise from the ground

There is no devil to make a deal with

No pact to be made or broken

Just me standing at the crossroads

It's simple really, I just need to take a step

Left or right left or right chants in my mind

With every breath, I hear them

The fears brushing up against my skin whispering in my ear

But tonight, something has changed

A new fear has found its voice and shakes me to my very core

What if I never move

What if I just stay still

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bria Fairchild

Hi! I hope you enjoy my short stories, bad poetry and the advice tidbits that I give out every Wednesday. Come and scream at the stars with me.

Whenever, Wherever,Whomever

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.