Poets logo

Work In Progress

a poem

By Hayli WilsonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
this song really inspired me :)

I painted a picture

of dreams and peace,

stood back and jumped into it

and tried to fit into it with ease.

though beautiful as one could hope,

it turns out I didn't plan my strokes very carefully;

I have filled my head with expectations of an artificial reality.

I am not picture perfect-

I could never hope to be-

and this life that I have envisioned tests the limits of the art that is me.

now I know that my painting was merely a fantasy;

I am an artwork in progress

and may never be complete,

but I will always be growing, nevertheless.

I color my work with each decision I make,

with each breath and with each step that I take.

water-colored tears and pastel laughter bleed onto the page,

a new stroke for each turn my life may take.

the world is ever-changing, beautifully abstract.

and after all it is quite the masterpiece;

maybe when all is said and done, I'll stand back,

and see that I've created a work of inner peace.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.