Poets logo

Wordcages

Escaped words go where?

By Ruth StewartPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
6
Wordcages
Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

Wordcages are the boxes our words get trapped in, when

Sometimes we aren't allowed to finish our sentences.

Sometimes our thought gets trampled over by another's words,

Someone more important (they think)

Usually, someone with testicles.

So our words go into a word cage

So they can't escape and change the world.

social commentary
6

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    "Usually, someone with testicles." You just made me laugh out loud. Great work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.