Poets logo

Wonder

By: Dunya Yasin

By Dunya YasinPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
(google images: sunset)

I wonder what it feels like to sleep in a bed and not on the floor.

I wonder what it's like to not feel my lungs crush underneath my ribs being asked the same question since I was tall enough to reach the handle of your bedroom door

I wonder what makes you stare right at me and judge me for my intentions, you were never this cruel cold-hearted venomous serpent before

I wonder what it feels like to grab a hold of cloths with different textures and patterns like my emotions and thoughts without having to feel guilty anymore

I wonder if you're ever sorry about what you've ruined for me.

Does an ounce of regret live in your heart, and if some days does it outweigh the justification of the chaos you let become the thunderous storm in my peaceful little world.

Wondering bears me from absolutely hating you.

An unforgiving stain on the bleached pure white mind, I erased memories of you, and shove you into the deepest folds.

"Out of sight, out of mind", "out of sight, out of mind" but wait.. No.

Spring rolls around and the buds on the trees grow, bloom, and blossom the earth begins to forgive the icy cold, but yet you continue to be so unbearable and wretched like Chicago's nasty below zero winter storms.

That type of cold that hits my bones and makes my teeth clatter and it's not because of the cold because I can handle the cold, I'm older now but I was only 16, and you made me fear the blended chatter of the ones who know, and of the ones who don't...

but I don't know any better I'm 16 remember?

I wonder what it's like to come home and not be bombarded by unmerciful thoughts and what's it like to sit in my room and feel cradled by comfort like a baby in our mother's arms, listening to the nurturing encompassing heartbeat rather a thunderous merciless storm.

That's what I imagine what it's like when I am home.

2/23/2020

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.