Poets logo

wonder

Love is a wonder

By CorwynnaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
wonder
Photo by Brian Kyed on Unsplash

her feet are too big

she prances anyway

dancing down the street

gleeful through the day

eyes alight with wonder

in the things she hasn't seen

mossy statues in a garden

silver fish under a stream

it didn't seem to matter

to the world when she was young

the way her hair was tangled

how she couldn't hold her tongue

but wooden blocks were stored away

in shelves within the basement

they said to leave her childhood there

she never learned what they meant

that they wanted a shell to grow

and hide the soft and ugly

hinged, of course, to let inside

the one, the one and only

but childhood is not a phase

softness is not obsolete

the ugly is the coin flip side

of praised virtues they feed

I thought I thought the way they did

I thought my mind was right

until I saw the wonder

in that dancing woman's eyes

she never seemed to understand

how she was meant to act

but when she cuts me with a smile

I bleed grateful that she's free of that

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.