Poets logo

WITHOUT YOU

A poem for loss

By Daniell FrovarpPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
WITHOUT YOU
Photo by Jarl Schmidt on Unsplash

When I woke to find you gone.

When the sun rose to the sky without you.

I felt my heart fall apart in tatters.

I looked to the sky and asked God why.

How can I continue my life without you.

I cried until no more tears wet my face.

I watched the sun leave my eyes and meet my eyes again

As I tried to grasp I would never see you laugh

See you smile proudly and joke.

Gosh your jokes were something else.

When I look at photos or hear a song my eyes well up for you.

You told me don't cry for you but it's hard not too.

I know you'll never know worldly pain again,

and that I'll see you again someday

But I can't help but feel lost.

When I get to where you are, I'll find you first.

I'll hold you tight and I'll never let go.

For when you left us, you left a hole, a void.

Your memory fades and slips day by day.

I grip and grasp at any last piece of you.

I'll do it until I see you again.

Until then Thank you for the time I had with you.

In Loving Memory of my grandfather.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Daniell Frovarp

~Fantasy/fable Writer

~Short story

~Unloved Daughter: New chapters regularly.

~Destined to Fall - New Chapter every 2 months

NOTE: I full edit every piece every 4 months. During that month no stories will be published. exception to challenges

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.