Poets logo

With You

The kind of love I've only read about in books.

By Ariana Yeager Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
With You
Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

I've never felt a love like ours.

Actually, I realized I've never felt what love was before you.

I never knew that someone could care this much for me and be able to express it with their words and actions.

When I noticed the way you smile, I never thought that one day that smile would be for me.

I've always fantasized about the all consuming kind of love. The romantic kind. The kind where you'd do anything for that person. The kind where your heart physically aches without them. The kind where your love story is the most important part of your life. The kind where you are left with such appreciation for having the honor of meeting them, but also being terrified that if one little thing in your life were to have gone different, you wouldn't have met; and I can't imagine surviving this life without you. I wouldn't be able to.

The kind of love I have with you, is the kind I've read about in my books and always longed for but never expected.

Being that our love story was unexpected, made it all the more exciting. It was the kind where we gave up and changed a lot for our relationship.

I always wondered what it would be like to have someone's face light up when they see me, because I've never had that until you. And even when we were just friends, I realized that your face lit up back then, just like now, when you saw me. It's such a warm feeling, and I know that that's what it's like to be cared about.

It terrifies me that I could have missed out on spending the rest of my life with you if things would have gone differently.

I know you're my person.

I see you in every aspect of my future, and you're my perfect fit.

You literally do it all. You can be serious and listen whole heartedly, you can make me laugh in a way that every nerve in my body is radiating with pure joy. You can be adorable and sexy and sincere.

You show me everyday, how much you love me. And while it's hard for me to see what you see, you do a damn good job at making me see my worth.

We've already done so much I've always dreamt of doing with my soulmate.

And everything with you sparks new life into me and makes me understand what it feels like to feel completely alive.

You make me appreciate life. You make me want to live. You make my life worth it.

You are my happiness. You are everything I need.

I live for our adventures where we match each other's energy the whole time, and the moments where you hold me and we both float in an ecstasy of comfort and security.

Our first dance, while a bit uncoordinated, was perfect. The music was loud and the emotions were raw and heavy with love. I held on tight as so that moment wouldn't pass. Our first song we danced to was "Perfect", by Ed Sheeran. The room was dark except for the colorful lights aluminating from the speaker. We danced and kissed and laughed until nothing else was on our minds except for the present moment.

With you I'm entirely at ease. With you it all feels right. With you I know this is what was always meant to be.

With you, I'm genuinely happy.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ariana Yeager

But, what if it does work out?

She walks through Hell with a smile because she owns her demons.

Don't say why me, say try me.

If you can't beat the fear, do it scared.

You only live once? False. You live everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.