Poets logo

With Disease

A Poem About Living with an Autoimmune Disorder

By Valerie TaylorPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I.

Living with this disease

is like living beneath a storm cloud

constantly collecting energy

constantly growing, looming, expanding over seas

becoming super saturated with anguish

with hands clasped for a single wish

for there to be rain, but no thunder.

II.

Living with this depression

is like dwelling in another dimension

in another time frame

everyone is moving forward towards the future

while all I experience is regression

of mental perception

one day I’m fine, and the next it’s a lie,

but when I’m racing towards the winner’s seat,

I’m always in a tie

with defeat.

III.

Living with an autoimmune disease is

wearing a shroud of death that no one else can see

but you

in the mirror, there it is, draped

over slouched shoulders,

caressing your cheek

and ever-present reminder that you are a black sheep

You try to move forward—like anyone would

but the shroud grows heavier,

a wet sheet that dampens the ground where you stood.

Reminding you that a single step took hours of sweat.

Reminding you that your body is your nemesis,

that there is no real ‘me.’

Because if the enemy of my enemy is my friend,

and my mind is my own worst enemy,

then all that leaves me with is spirit.

Unfortunately, I’m in no mood for out-of-body

experiences

when every day has me hanging from fences

by the collar of that shroud.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Valerie Taylor

Freelance Writer | World Traveler | Dancer | Fitness Nerd

Check out my website: https://www.thetravelingvalkyrie.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.