Poets logo

Winters End

Goodbye My Friend

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Winters End
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

In the depths of winter

Snowflakes fall pitter-pat

Upon my upturned face

Swirling angel acrobats

***

The heaven formed macramé melts

Fall onto my fluttering eyelashes

Ice cold tears of dead snowflakes

Snowmen eyes turned to ashes

***

Some lament summers end

When longer nights draw in

And the sunshine wanes like a frightened mouse

Until springtime comes again

***

But I cry cold tears as snowflakes die

And in muddy puddles lie

And snowmen shed their winter pelts

And carrot noses sigh

***

I will miss my cooling breaths

And frosty white exhale

That from my ice-cold lips

Leave a beautiful white contrail

***

I miss the slipperiness underfoot

And the crunch of freshly fallen snow

And the expanse of thick white carpet

As yet untouched by crow or doe

***

The icy pond I skate upon

The danger when it cracks

Makes my heart-rate deliciously increase

For me, that’s what summer lacks

***

Summertime is too tame by far

Too multicolour hued

Too safe by comparison

To winters albino natures nude

***

As for me, I lament winters end.

nature poetry
4

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.