Poets logo

Winter's Coming

Where did I leave My Slippers?

By David X. SheehanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
8

I know that I am not a king

Just a step up from pauper

I know when I try to sing

I sound like Cyndy Lauper …

*time after time*

Leaves fall from the trees

Pulling rake from the shed

Piled up stacks of threes

Like hearts for Mikeydred …

<3 Settle <3

Cats and dogs are next

They’ll be warm when alone

I’ll get no angry text

From lovely Courtney Capone …

🐶 Kept Promises 🐹 🎃

Propane guy just left the bill

Ft. Myers seems so far away

So, before I lose my will

I start typing to asway …

🏝🐟🦜🏝 93 🌡🌝

Heat just came on again

Warm the digits old king cole

Write words, with no pen

Maybe you’ll find your soul …

🤴 👼

Rest a sec, I think Atlanta

Still warm there in November

My weight is up, I am Santa

Sweet Christmas’ I remember …

🤶🤶🎅🎁❤🎅

I’ve had enough for Monday

Of stuck door and frozen zippers

Winter tries to come today

Still can’t find my slippers …

dxsheehan 11/8/2021

love poems
8

About the Creator

David X. Sheehan

I write my memories, family, school, jobs, fatherhood, friendship, serious and silly. I read Vocal authors and am humbled by most. I'm 76, in Thomaston, Maine. I seek to spread my brand of sincere love for all who will receive.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    That was so much fun! What an enjoyable read, well done :)

  • A lovely poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.