Poets logo

William

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

I lost a friend by the name of William,

Whose heart I wish I’d kept.

But slowly,

Through the passage of time

And through the works of fate

I learned to forget him.

I believe it easy to lose a part of yourself.

So often, it gets mixed with everything else

Be it love

Be it circumstances

Be it friends

Or enemies.

Something is always changing

Or being affected.

William knew this.

His eyes were always drawn towards the impossible,

His ears constantly tuned to hear beyond the normal notes and pitches

Beyond the scope of certainty,

He sought the uncertain,

He craved for it.

He desired it above all else, and knew none who had entirely reached it.

He knew it was fear that drove most.

It was the fear of the unproven,

Of the mystery

Of the doubt

Of the uncertainty

That forced many to stand down.

What foes lie bound to our souls

As devils on our shoulders

And what successes rain from the heavens?

We may never truly know.

You see,

William would know,

Had I not lost him years ago.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.