Poets logo

Wildflowers

Some prose about struggling with anxiety and depression.

By xx, janePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Wildflowers
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I live with this hand gripped around my chest.

Just beyond the pep, the excitement and lust for life, lies this energy, dark and menacing, ever present.

I just want to exercise these lungs, inhale and exhale myself free, but the grip is firm.

There is this cloud in my head.

The sun’s rays try to break through.

They’re there, shining, so bright, THERE IS LITERALLY SO MUCH LIGHT.

But the cloud, metamorphosing from thick to thin then back to thick again depending on the weather, is perpetually there, ever present.

How do I let this go?

Wildflowers and deep bellied laughter lie just beyond, but I don’t know how to get over this fence to get there.

Maybe if this fence wasn’t like an older piece of furniture you can’t seem to get rid of, so you decorate it, try and mask it’s purpose, blend it into the rest of the room to try and make it disappear, maybe had I not made friends with it in my loneliness this would be easier.

So I’m doing to the work.

I’m taking down the garlands, the framed art work and memories of the past captured on little glossy papers.

I’m tearing this bitch down if it kills me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

xx, jane

student of life. self-help addict who loves sharing gained knowledge. lover of words. my life’s mission is to empower & inspire growth in others. contact me at [email protected].

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.