Poets logo

Widowed bride

poetry

By Dujana ChakirPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Widowed bride
Photo by Katsiaryna Endruszkiewicz on Unsplash

Widowed Bride

You kept me waiting in the rain

That lashed out at me like a cane

Soaked to the bone I still remain

Ignoring the chill and pain

Soon the leaves started to fall too

But I kept looking out for you

The mud washed my white dress

The winds whipped my naked breasts

No umbrella

Unlucky as Cinderella

Though I didn't lose a shoe but a lost love

As the showers poured from above

The thundering struck my ears

But I didn't seem to hear

Or care

All I knew was the deafening sound

Of a breaking heart

Wait

I'm still standing in the rain

I hope you're on your way

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dujana Chakir

ing...writer Creative

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.