Poets logo

Wicked Witch

Spell's Cast

By Ashley Nicole CameronPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Image retrieved from talesofamadcapheriess.blogspot.com

You pulled me in as a child,

Tricking me into trusting you.

Finding a true friend was my only desire,

And I thought I had found it in you.

A wickedness inside of you, that my naïve eyes missed.

You laid your spell across the land,

And I became of duchess, in the land of dishonesty.

But we grew up, and our childlike eyes

Grew to see evil we were never warned of.

Harmful touches and bruising words.

Innocence taken away, but never spoken of.

I couldn’t tell you and you couldn’t tell me,

But our unspoken language said all that needed to be.

Still, we grew, but now apart. Cracks in our foundation,

Like a New York City sidewalk.

The empire was in ruins that no one could see.

Once again, a side effect of the curse you made on me.

An enchantress much stronger than you, banished me to a land

No one knew. I stayed there many years, unsure of where I was

Or how to get through, wandering in self-loathing, lost in that world.

We found each other again, and I found myself

Enchanted in your glory. You were foreign and promising,

Your tales from other worldly places masking the truth.

You were still just like me, a little girl from some unknown.

I trusted you again, spellbound by the promise of a comrade.

Until you betrayed me. Calling upon the evil Enchantress.

Her words a spell of heartbreak, for me. Impending doom, me begging for mercy.

Still, I trusted you again. You made me feel less than you, because

I had yet to find the “love” you knew. Your knight, always better than mine.

Yet, I still trusted you.

But then, you took my heart and ripped it out of my chest.

I watched it beat in your hands. Dripping with apologies masked in pride.

You spewed words of hate, throwing daggers made of letters, at my once

Brightly beating heart. You threw the biggest and last dagger, and I watched

As my heart and dreams became dust in your hands.

You blamed me for things I will never understand. Accusations twisted like a funnel

In the storm you created. I ran seeking refuge.

You the wicked witch of the East, cast the same curse as the Wicked Witch of the West.

Now, I find myself lost in a kingdom unknown. A dethroned princess, now a lowly bum.

But never shall I beg to rebecome, what you falsely gave me all along.

You wicked witch. I would rather roam my false kingdom, than be what you have become.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Nicole Cameron

"Always a sinner, never a saint. I make mistakes, I screw up. I hurt, I cry. I capture those emotions between the pages of my notebook and hope one day the world will care."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.