Poets logo

Why You Should Never Stop Creating

The Artist’s Superpower: Passion & Pain

By Natalie NascenziPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Let's be real...most of us create for two reasons: passion or pain. Whether it’s one or the other, or both at once, you either love what you do or it’s saving you. (I'm writing this at 2 AM, so bare with me.)

As artists, we channel our emotions into every creation. We express ourselves through splashes of paint, notes and chords, and words scribbled furiously across paper. Every piece we create is screaming, out loud, whatever lives within our souls. Quite frankly, it’s a freakin’ superpower… to be able to take something we feel and turn it into an experience for someone else. The list of emotions that we can somehow make tangible is endless, but here’s just a few: sadness, madness, happiness, love, hope, loneliness, joy, sorrow.

We can literally make release become reality.

The beauty? Whatever we create has the power to influence and inspire. We have a beautiful gift that allows us to create something that connects with people who otherwise cannot find the words, the music, or the image to express their own emotions. In some twisted way, artists are the world’s most important therapists. Wait no, superheroes.

At what cost? Our own sanity, of course.

I, for one, will be the first to admit that the pain and passion bleeding from the ink in my pen and onto the page is never easy for me to share. My poetry is the purest form of self-expression. It’s all laid out, raw, and real for all eyes to consume. It is mental anguish, struggle, love, lust, hopelessness and hope all permanently burned onto published pages. So, why put my pain into the world for all eyes and ears to hear and see? Why not keep my passion to myself? Why not spare myself the agony of being vulnerable? Why do I risk being judged and feeling not good enough? I’m sure many writers and artists can agree––the greatest hope is that someone, somewhere, needed to see it, read it, or hear it to feel that they are not alone. To feel loved. Wanted. Hopeful. Understood.

For someone, somewhere, to simply feel something, anything, or nothing at all.

There have been so many times when I wanted to destroy everything and turn my back completely on poetry. I am no stranger to sleepless nights, the ones when self-doubt and imposters syndrome steal my head from my pillowcase. If only I could count on one hand every time I screamed, “I’m never writing again!” or picked up the box of matches on my nightstand like a madwoman. It always seemed like the best idea was to burn every bit of evidence that made me a poet. (fun fact: I have burned my book a few times).

You know what always snapped me back? What kept me going? One sentence:

“Your poem is what I needed today.”

That’s when I tell myself, “This is why I share it. Yeah. For the reader who needed it.” There is no use in having the power to create if we do not use it. That’s why we need to continue to dance on this twisted tightrope of passion, pain, and creation. Guys. We change lives.

I know, I know. It’s crazy. But, it’s true and we do it simply by creating and sharing our art. How does that quote go? Not all superheroes wear capes? Right. They don’t. Some wear scrubs. Some wear hard hats. Some carry signs and fight for justice. Some hold a pen, a mic, or a paintbrush.

So here’s the whole tragic point:

To every artist whose eyes grace this article, please never forget the power of your passion. Never belittle the impact that the expression of your pain can have on someone.

Remember: Your song might make an entire moment. Your poem might save a life. Your painting might make a room a feel like home. Your art might change someone’s entire world.

That is a hot damn superpower.

Have a beautiful day and never stop creating.

Natalie Nascenzi is a copywriter, poet, and author from Rhode Island. She moved to the city in 2017 to pursue her career in advertising. After a dramatic weight loss transformation of over 85 pounds and a journey through anxiety, depression, and loss of self, Natalie found herself again through words. Since then, she made an impression on New York City's open mic community and her works have been featured across the world in anthologies and independent publications. From her first book Out of Chaos to now, Natalie has spread her message of hope and transformation; and is excited to continue the journey with readers through The Aftermath of Unrest. Both of her books are available worldwide online. IG: @nncenzi. www.natalienascenzi.com

ATTN ARTISTS: Check out HXS! (IG: @HiddenBySoul). NYC's hottest underground creative society & eclusive event.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Natalie Nascenzi

Aloha, I’m Nat! Poet. Author. Copywriter. Vagabond. The list goes on and on. Based in Manhattan, part-time nomad. I live by a simple set of rules: Trust God, keep it real, be kind, JUST GO FOR IT!

www.natalienascenzi.com / Insta: @nncenzi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.