Poets logo

Why Kid Myself?

Trying to Understand Heartbreak

By Ashley Nicole CameronPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

You never meant

a thing to me.

Why then, does

your memory berate

me?

I wish I

had amnesia,

for mementos

of the past,

love to ambush me.

They pick through

the rubble of my mind.

Recounting each and every

time we were together.

Making me hate myself

for ever loving you.

Why, oh why,

did we ever

have to meet?

Why did you leave me?

Why do I kid myself?

You meant everything

to me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Nicole Cameron

"Always a sinner, never a saint. I make mistakes, I screw up. I hurt, I cry. I capture those emotions between the pages of my notebook and hope one day the world will care."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.