Poets logo

Why do I have to send them to you?

What have you done?

By Hillery D. KeeferPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Why do I have to send them to you?
Photo by Zhivko Minkov on Unsplash

Why do I have to send her to you?

“What have you done for me,

Lately?”

-Janet Jackson

Every week

Every week

They are gone

Gone to a place

(An emotional void)

That’s been gone

A long

Time

Ago

A house

Not

A home

Food

Bed

Clothes that don’t quite fit

They go to school

On time

I suppose

He has to be to work

Y’know

He picks them up

From school

Ninjitsu

He pays for it, too

Will buy clothes

He says

But can’t find any to buy

For school

Uniforms.

…..

I bought online at Target

Not so hard

I’m tired.

Always tired.

Just thinking of him.

Tired.

Why do they go to you?

They know you don’t care.

They say you don’t care.

My son

Gets along with you

Because

“We like the same things.”

Oh my god

Really?

He knows

To shut up

When you mock him

But she fights

Stands up for herself

And you yell

And blame her

Do you hate her, but love him?

Do you control her,

Because she’s a girl,

But not him?

No.

You control everyone

Ever in your care.

But not me

I left

She tried to leave, too

But a court order

Says she can’t

If she tries again

She won’t go back

You don’t deserve her

You don’t deserve him

And you will die alone

You’ll see

You’ll die alone

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Hillery D. Keefer

Hi! ^_^

My name is Hillery, with an 'e.' Nice to meet you. I'm new here but I've been writing poetry and flash fiction since I was a child. I like to write in the way that I think, so I guess it's kind of stream-of-consciousness at times.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Coleabout a year ago

    My heart goes out to you 💓x

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.