Poets logo

Why Are We so Quick?

Don't give up now.

By Kayton HickenlooperPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Why are we so quick

So quick to judge

So quick to assume

It is like we act as if we already know

Without even scraping the surface of the details

Like saying that you know what a book is about by just looking at the cover

Why don't we take that deeper look

Where inside there are colors that paint a sunset

Full of vibrancy that even our language has no words for

But total awe

Why are we so quick to get mad

Do we forget to take a second

To just pause and breathe

To try to understand the little things

Finding that silver lining

Where everything just makes sense

So quickly we take things so personally

But the question is

Would it still matter in ten days from now

Or would that anger just fester and rage

Until every part of you just crumbles

Why are we so quick to walk away

Saying that I can't do that

Or it is too much

But how do we really know

If we never even try

Where is the self-discipline

Where is the will power or even the endurance

To actually say

Yes I can

I can do this and I will

I will try until my bones break

I won't stop fighting until the day rises

Where I can say

I made it

We are stronger then we can even imagine

I see people push and push

Shortly after they decide to quit

And the safest part is

If they fought for just a day longer

The breakthrough would have been right there knocking at the door

So don't give up

Keep your head held high

Swimming for all of your might

Because sooner then you realise

Everything will change

You will be able to look back and say

Yes I made it

So don't be so quick

Take your time and push a little more

Each and every day

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kayton Hickenlooper

I write to clear my mind. To get out of the fog of daily confusion. An artist by heart. To live, laugh, and grow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.