Poets logo

Who Is She?

Poetry

By Marilyn GloverPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Who Is She?
Photo by Karim MANJRA on Unsplash

A sweet little girl smiled at me this morning

Beaming from ear to ear with such radiance

She stirred up feelings of safety and warmth

Likened to shelter of any welcoming home

*

Although a stranger, I could not shake her

My heart yearning for answers questioned

Of all people in this world, why this child?

Something was familiar yet still out of place

*

Leaving me with the a weighted burden

And an unanswered question: Who is she?

*

Perhaps it was her golden spun pigtails

Gentle spirals bouncing off her shoulders

Soft and spongey like shortcake springing

Back after a gentle push with one finger

*

Her coils reminded me of my childhood

Mornings, wakening, leaping out of bed

Bounding to the television set greeting

Bugs Bunny & all his Looney Tune pals

*

Memories of a savory taste yet unfulfilled

Starving to still understand: who is she?

*

Maybe it was her hazel eyes swirling

Jade & coffee tones speckling bronze

Her eyes were twins to my very own

But hers were a widened revelation

*

Water encircled each iris overflowing

Like a river feeding an ocean of dreams

Two twinkling stars shining her emotions

She held an ever gaze of wonder & surprise

*

Seeing her so clearly ignited my smoldering coals

A burning desire; innate, to know: Who is she?

*

Perchance, it was her incorruptibility

A tender age of innocence exploring

All options without resistance or fear

Oblivious to all judgement or rejection

*

Her soul was free and most willing

Not shrouded in shame or confined

Instead, poised & buoyantly soaring

To heights often avoided with age

*

Her ambiance struck a buried chord in me

Recovered notes responding to" who is she”?

*

A sweet little girl smiled at me this morning

At first sight she was just a pleasant stranger

Inviting me to know her better prompting

Another look into my mirror to fairly reflect

*

She sat there staring back at me urging

Me to remember; once again connect

Too many years passed by dismissing

The inner child in me longing for freedom

*

A promise to let her play releasing repression

Reunited me with the she who is in fact, me!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.