Poets logo

Who Am I

Who Am I

By Angelea SakaiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I look in the mirror what do I see?

Is this the person I wanted to be?

With eyes made of stone and a face so forlorn,

A mind full of doubt and thoughts full of scorn?

The stoic faced me on a sea of despair,

With a gentle touch, but disinterested air?

Is this the path I have chosen to take?

Is this the me that I decided to make?

Did society chose the person inside?

Did I forget who I was in my effort to hide?

Or is this the me deep within my vast heart?

How long have I been this way - when did it start?

Did time shape my thoughts or have my thoughts shaped my time?

Are people to blame or did my brain do the crime?

Is it somewhere in the middle, an area of gray?

And just where do I go when I don't know the way?

Know thyself are truly words for the wise,

but how can I know through yesterday's eyes?

Being myself is not so easy a task,

when I am constantly told to put on a mask.

From the time I was born I was told what to do,

But who am I really when the telling is through?

I was shaped and then molded, a figure of clay,

But which me will remain when that washes away?

Did I chose the personality that came with this face,

Or is it a false me that I cannot erase?

Which parts are fake and which parts are real?

I do not know for I do not feel.

I am numb and empty, a doll that is dead,

The only life in me are the dreams in my head.

Dreams that are beautiful, but some that I fear,

Yet despite it all, I am still here.

A vessel that is filled with what I allow,

A me I will own, though I know not how.

So I'll fill me with thoughts that I feel are all my own,

I refuse to become another mindless drone.

The mask I put down, I see the me I've become,

The me who had fallen, but got up, and won.

I am a me that is learning and that is okay,

Since I'm no longer the me that stands in my way.

I look in the mirror and I see the real me,

It's not the person I expected to be.

But this me works too, both the bad and the good,

I am the me who will be as I should.

And the me I should be, just who is that?

Where am I going and where am I at?

I'm at the right place, the place I belong

The me I am going toward is the me that is strong.

The me who is weird, and the me who is kind.

The me who isn't afraid to speak with my mind.

The me who is me, no matter how far I fall-

For I'd rather be me than no one at all.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Angelea Sakai

Goth otaku with a hint of delusion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.