Poets logo

Who Am I?

I'm Lost

By Yasmine RiveraPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I decided to choose this photo because I knew exactly who I was

I chose this photo because it was taken in the most blissful moment.

Can I share something with you?

I honestly have no clue who I am at this point.

I've lost touch with myself.

Yesterday I cried in the shower and had to cover my mouth

because the noises escaping my were louder than the running water.

I stood there letting the water fall on my skin

I stood there emotionless.

I realized something.

My hard work has always gone unnoticed.

I thought the work I put in was enough

but I was proved wrong by a beloved teacher.

Thank you for telling me I wasn't good enough.

I wanted to give up because of you.

Why try anymore?

That question ate at me for days.

During those days, I wasn't myself

Yet, no one noticed the change in my smile.

No one noticed my eyes watering with tears.

I blended.

Thank you for checking up on me.

Through it all, I found the answer.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Yasmine Rivera

I am 16 years old with a passion for writing poetry and books. My material is incredibly melancholy, so do not forget the tissues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.