Poets logo

Who am I?

A Poem

By Vernon T. ScottPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Image comes from Slaytor's Playhouse

I am the parent that never procreated.

I am the activist who makes change without being activated.

I am the sibling to many though our parents are not the same.

I am the child of many, even though I am not of their seed nor egg.

I am the abused and the hurt.

I am the hatred and fake.

I am a child of God.

I am the beaten and unheard.

I am the pain and tears.

I am the sorrow.

I am the universe that surrounds me.

I am a creation in solid form that is constantly vibrating because my atoms do not stop.

I am the cradler of hatred who knows it as my kin because it is born when love meets anger; unfortunately for some, love was divorced and anger married fear.

I am the shroud of self-degradation that resulted in actions and behaviors untrue to who I am.

I am those who are forgotten and twisted into an image that is a misrepresentation of their character.

I am…I do not know anymore.

Who am I but another person who had to forget their greatness in order to dim themselves in order to survive in a sea of mediocrity?

Who am I but a healed wound that continues to bleed because my trauma is generational, and the more I heal a new trauma forms; will I ever stop bleeding?

Who am I but a person rediscovering themselves and loving the character that is forming?

Who am I? This is a question only I can answer. Regardless of the degree or authority any other individual may hold, they do not have the power to answer.

Justice, who am I?

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.