Poets logo

White Rose

Lies

By Deanne JensenPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

You stole my heart with a single white rose;

Wanting, believing, while feeling the lies;

Promises made that could never be kept;

Hidden in secret, my heart slowly dies.

The white rose, eternal, undying love;

The color of doves, spreading their wings to fly;

Pure in its meaning radiating like angels glowing;

Snow freshly fallen to blanket the icy riverside.

Love, conditional, not allowed to grow;

A lie so gentle, felt clear to my soul;

The falseness, the lies, the betrayal the white rose knows not;

And when you leave it weakens my control, rips apart my soul.

Forever embedded, frozen in time the image of lies.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Deanne Jensen

I love to write. The one thing I don't like writing about is myself, ironic because that seems to be the one thing I do write about. I'm 53 and married for last time. I walk for stress release. I love Matchbox 20 the music fits me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.