Poets logo

White Blanket (The News)

A poem about today

By CorwynnaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
White Blanket (The News)
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

The TV is flickering onto the news

Static cling clings and sings blues

The TV is flickering onto today

I turned it off but it comes true

Documentaries that I used to watch

And shudder and cry and donate

My money flew out to a void that won't fill

And it's eating the screen as I wait

The TV is flickering onto the news

I didn't try enough to stop it

Enough hands beside me could hold it all in

But I didn't reach out, there's no movement

My swaddle of blanket is white and soft

Expensive and tangled around me

I bury my head in the folds of it now

The static it rises to drown me

The TV is flickering onto the news

I still don't know where I can start

To blacken the screen 'til the end credits roll

And the walls behind finally can part

The TV is flickering onto the news

I hold the remote in my hand

The static sings brightly, waves over my head

I think that I can understand

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.