Poets logo

Whispers of Wisdom

A Life Poem

By Nicole CaldwellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
79

I pass her by.

Wrinkled woman, deep eyes.

That will be me.

I feel it already.

In my stiffening back.

In the energy I lack.

Her eyes are wise

and see through lies.

They ask of me,

"Do you know how to be?"

"Is your life shelved

while you toil for someone else?"

"Man's age-old patterns

eclipse what truly matters."

"Beware of over-giving.

Stressing isn't living."

"Let your heart have its say.

Let your soul lead the way."

"Don't wait, Dear One,

for that vague 'someday'."

"It comes in a blink.

It ends faster than you think."

In a glance, I got her message.

How our time is truly precious.

When my eyes turn grey,

I know what they'll say.

"I'm glad I listened then."

What will yours say, Friend?

inspirational
79

About the Creator

Nicole Caldwell

I passionately share poetry of hope in our times.

Not blind hope, but the kind that burns no matter how strong the storm.

Through story and art, we burn brightly together.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Dylan 2 years ago

    Very powerful. Great poem!

  • Arbab2 years ago

    Beautiful

  • Chezney Martin2 years ago

    Absolutely loved the prose; easily elicited an emotional response. Beautiful!

  • Ally Murphy2 years ago

    "Don't wait, Dear One, for that vague 'someday'." So beautiful!

  • This was a beautiful poem, Annie.

  • Annie Edwards 2 years ago

    Beautiful!!

  • This is stunning! Thank you for sharing!

  • Love it! Casual encounters/observations inspired thoughts are my fav as well!

  • G.B. Veen2 years ago

    Beautiful !

  • Maervel2 years ago

    Very nicely written. Now is all we have.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Love this message

  • Michele davis2 years ago

    I really like that. It made me think of my mom and my grandma who passed away in 2005.

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.