Poets logo

Whispers of Relapse

A poem about fighting off the inner voice that tells me to return to old habits

By J. LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
Whispers of Relapse
Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

*

Another night-

Another fight-

Between Me, Myself, and I.

I have the reason;

I have the right;

I can't escape this Plight.

*

It whispers to me

"Hear me now-

I'm here to stop the strife.

There's only one thing

You must do:

And that is take a knife."

Image received from: https://www.thekeyplay.com/content/2018/november/8/angel-vs-devil-pitt-edition

*

"A tempting offer,"

I must say,

"But I must turn away.

I can't go back-

Not to that place-

I worked so hard to erase."

*

"Suit yourself,

But I'll be back,

Of this I can assure.

You need me now,

Just like before:

You'll scream and beg for more."

*

The voice flew away-

I fought it off-

At least for one more night.

Life is hard,

Recovery harder,

But tonight I am stronger

*

Image received from: https://www.agilea.us/what-are-the-keys-to-build-a-resilient-supply-chain-

**If you or someone you know is struggling with addictive substances, actions, or behaviors, PLEASE try and seek professional help. Depending on the vice and severity, it may be dangerous or even deadly to try and attempt recovery on your own, without medical supervision. Be safe, Friends. You're worth your health and happiness in life

For some tips on recovery, as well as some resources, check out Recovery is Anything But

For an insight to SOME of my story and recovery process, check out Thank you for Surviving **

___________________________________________________

*If you liked this piece, give it a heart or a share!

Thank you so much for any likes, shares, or donations. I greatly appreciate each and every one. Your feedback continues to help me grow and progress! *

inspirational
6

About the Creator

J. Lee

French enthusiast, non-binary trans person, artist, writer, lover of animals, space, and the right for every living thing to experience their existence authentically.

Pronouns: they/them (English) iel (French)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.