Poets logo

Whispered Were The Words

Too much for granted

By Daniel Oconnor Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’ve fallen deep into a space that’s without you

I feel around to touch but don’t know where you have gone to

Somebody once said fly alone you’ll be stronger

But it was something that you said that which made me stay that much longer

Those words they have escaped me

Whispered softly and so plainly

They are words which most use daily

Common words you spoke which saved me

You gave me family love and life

You said yes you’ll be my wife

I gave you nothing I had promised

I let you down and wasn’t honest

I gave up on me and sadly us

Pushing you to do what you must

When I left that morning that Sunday

I thought I’d calm down and it would be okay

I’d come home to see you and the kids happy

To see me again in our home not angry

It’s been months now since I walked

When I should have stayed and talked

I would be there with you now

Not sitting here wondering how

I could be so blind to what we had

What we had built good and bad

But through my fingers I let it slip

For years bit by bit

Now there’s nothing left to hold

Except those words to me you told

As I am sure you don’t remember

You said I love you now and forever

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Oconnor

My passion is words, when I write it usually takes no more than half an hour to bring to life what I’m thinking... if I leave it inside my head i obsess over the thoughts and they transform into something I can’t express...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.