Poets logo

Where We Lay

In The Arms of Another

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
14
Where We Lay
Photo by Mitchell Griest on Unsplash

We were so young, so naïve to the world

But nothing could stand in our way

We were bold, independent, hell bent on proving them wrong

All that mattered was the world where we lay

The gift of that magic would soon be revealed

And we would no longer be alone

A new life was created, love in human form

Flesh from our flesh, bone from our bone

With that news, so exciting for us

Came anger and tears, no joy, but hate

End it, they said, its over, we will pay

But our minds were made up, it was too late

We struggled for years, through loss and sacrifice

But my cost was great, the losses were mine

You wanted more, demanded more

And as long as you got it, you were just fine.

I worked hard, gave up on so many dreams

You planned the family and life that was for you

And when you didn’t get it, we were partners no more

This was when anger and bitterness grew

Still I loved you, loved the family we made

And in the blink of an eye sickness was here

They cut open my head, made me think of my death

When I woke up you were no longer there

We drifted and drifted, further apart

With each other we’d lay no more

Our hearts were not one, and our youth was gone

But soon it was clear I lost more

One night, alone, holding a sick child in my arms

You were nowhere to be found

While I had a child in mine, someone else was in yours

Your sin left our fait sealed and bound

The lies came forth, secrets were kept

My sanity slowly drifted away

You became the nightmares and demons

That I could no longer hold at bay

I lost my home, my family torn apart

Our kids damaged the worst

But starting over, my youth was gone

My dreams and youth was what I gave you first

I am slowly on the mend

Rebuilding my life is my goal

The hurt is there, so is the anger and the hate

But those I am learning to control

One day this will be just another tragic tale

Of a life, family and youth taken away

But your life is better now, no tears for you

It only mattered where you lay

sad poetry
14

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.