Poets logo

Where to first?

My first solo journey.

By Erica JordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Where to first?
Photo by Togo RV on Unsplash

Where to first?

My first solo journey

So I sat by the water the other day.

The old me would want to just tie weights to my ankles and jump.

Me, now though,

I do want to jump, not for those reasons.

I want to swim with the fish, clean the oceans, and save the coral reefs.

Be a 33 year old mermaid.

That was always what I wanted to be when I grew up.

Now im “grown up”

A terminally ill one too.

Sorry I gotta make light of the situation or I'll spiral.

Now what?

What happens to my future?

Will I travel and find my purpose, if so is it permanent?

Will I be able to adopt a child or have a cousin carry a child for me and my husband or wife?

If there is one.

Ahh, I don’t want to be that crazy aunt.

Well, let's face it.

I already am.

I just don’t drink and I smoke a lot of marijuana for pain.

And a weird, dark, fucked up sense of humor.

It’s an Irish thing.

I make my own self laugh out loud.

I don’t need any extra shit.

I had my court date , so that is over with,

Just awaiting results.

Then it’s over with, all the injustice.

It’s sad.

Anyway,

Which city first?

Sedona ; Phoenix Delray Beach, Houston, Dallas?

So many to even choose from.

But come fall, I’ll be ready.

Then after Thanksgiving I’ll hit the road.

I’m so excited for this solo journey, it will be weird at first.

Hard to be alone

But I can do this.

I’m strong. I have been through worse.

-ej

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.