Poets logo

Where is Home?

A poem for the diaspora

By N.M.EPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Dane Deaner on Unsplash

Lost words filter my mind, looking for comfort, looking to form a sentence they can call home.

Where is home?

When you weren't raised on her land, but feel deeply rooted in her soil. When fear has consumed your desire to water her grounds and hope dances on the edge of cliffs too scared to jump into shark infested waters.

Where is home?

When my liquefied western words serve as petrol for the vehicle that is my mind, a mind unable to express itself in a language she will understand. A body moving to the rhythmic Somali beats, lips that sing along but a mind that can't comprehend the deeper meaning of the lyrics.

Where is home?

When the scent of Canjero wakes you from a deep slumber, but your hands are unable to master the circular motion required to create the perfect one. When the fear of hooyo's hands retiring provokes your taste buds to retain the taste for it knows there is a life of toast and cereal awaiting it.

Where is home?

When your body isn't equipped to handle her heat, rather it is used to rainy days and grey skies it is greeted with most mornings. When your feet frantically pace the streets and aren't used to taking long strides on her sandy beaches.

You are the home I never lived in.

You are my home away from home.

You will always be my home and eventually I will find my way back to you.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

N.M.E

My passion is sharing my experiences through words, I've been writing poetry for over a decade and recently self-published my first book titled 'Letters on my tongue' which can be found on Amazon. Thanks for stopping by :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.