Poets logo

"Where I'm From" by George Ella Lyons

My version of George Ella Lyons poem. This is one of my favorite writing exercises and one I encourage all to try. This is where I'm from:

By berlinPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
"Where I'm From" by George Ella Lyons
Photo by Jackson David on Unsplash

I am from my writing

from tears and love.

I am from never fitting in

from pretending to be okay.

I am from self doubt

from perfectionism picking at my brain.

I am from great at listening

from feeling unheard.

I am from nature

from green trees and staring up at the night sky.

I am from music and film

from easily attached to fictional characters.

I am from daydreams in my head

from the comfort of my bed.

I am from pink blush and red lips

from brown eyes and poor vision.

I am from telling jokes

from noticing the little things.

I am from summer days

from sunsets and chocolate cake.

I am from self-growth

from excited for change.

I am from enjoying my own company

from taking better care of myself.

I am from dreams to make the world a better place

from spreading love and never losing sight of what is important.

I am present.

I am me.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

berlin

How did the over-thinker get through life?

They would write out their thoughts.

Instagram: beegermany_

Twitter: _favdaydreamer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.