Poets logo

Where I Have Sought Longing

A poem about longing and the divine by ED 6/15/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Where I Have Sought Longing
Photo by Marcus Wallis on Unsplash

I have longed for a longing

Like a turn at belonging

I have wanted a feeling

Like wanting to be free

Of this endless reeling

Beneath the willow tree

Where no one sees me

Because I cannot be

Where I am in the world

With one hand curled

On my chest and I see

In the mirror only He

Is the One of the Three

Whose love truly hurled

So far across the sea

The hatred I’d steal

From the skirts lightly twirled

By a hand strong and sweet

Touting love unreal

Then again I would feel

Strangely queasy which reveals

The longing for the longing

The inaction prolonging

Inevitable teases

From the One who pleases

All senses that one can feel.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mescaline Brisset2 years ago

    Beautiful work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.