Poets logo

Where I Grew Up

Poem

By Pamela RuizPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Where I Grew Up
Photo by Danielle Rice on Unsplash

Where I grew up, Dairy Queen was our only fast food, and Piggly Wiggly our only grocer

I grew up in wide-open spaces in a community void of fences

Where I could see my grandmother hanging clothes on the line from the kitchen window

Where frequent footfalls carved a bare path through a field connecting me from my home to my dear grandparents.

Where I grew up, I climbed trees, and rode on the tailgates of pickup trucks I picked wild blackberries that grew on the side of dirt roads

And chewed sour dots and savored the sweet nectar of honeysuckles

I played outside all day and in the evening sat on the floor in front of my grandfather's chair to hear tales of how he ran into Big Foot while hunting in the woods

And at night, where I grew up, I would lie in bed and let the night song billowing in through the open window, dance through the curtains, and sing me to sleep

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Pamela Ruiz

My students would agree that I am the female version of John Keating, the English teacher from Dead Poet’s Society. I enjoy sharing my passion for writing and love for literature. For me, the world would not be complete without books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.