Poets logo

Where Did They Go?

For All of My Characters: Once and Future

By Roy StevensPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
6
Where Did They Go?
Photo by Jake Weirick on Unsplash

They weren't and then they were,

yet I miss them. They're not really here,

unless I conjure them again from the page

by looking over the words that defined

and measured the age

in which they dwelt with their joys and pain,

their hopes and fears, their courage and outrage.

Then they weren't real...

Now I must feel

I've let them down in not finding

other eyes and hearts for binding

my creatures with the quickening breath

of those who walk the 'living' place

where we hide from our dreams

and shrink back from empty space.

If this at all grabs you, please consider reading my short piece "Sorry Vocal" which also discusses our connection with our creations. Thank you for reading this poem.

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Roy Stevens

Just one bad apple can spoil a beautiful basket. The toxins seep throughout and...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice piece ✨❤️💯😉

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I really feel responsible for my characters as well, it’s such an odd thing when I really think about it. Like I’m doing now, thanks to this piece! 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.