Poets logo

When We First Touched

by H. H. Lynn

By Heather HublerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
23

When we first touched,

I couldn't feel the color of his skin.

I only felt the stain of warmth in his cheeks,

The gentleness around his eyes.

The line of his brow.

I felt the slight grooves of fine wrinkles.

My fingers grew obsessed with

the dips and curves of

his dimples,

his lips,

his smile.

My hands explored, my heart raced.

My nerves sung.

It was electrifying. He was beautiful.

Then he touched me.

...And I pulled away.

I couldn't bear his rejection.

But he gently reeled me back,

cradling my face.

He couldn't feel the color of my skin.

But he could feel the scars I bore.

The rigid skin,

puckered and ugly.

Tears tracked down my face.

He was perfect, and

I was broken.

But his calloused hands

caressed and

smoothed.

Wiped away my tears.

Each soft touch assuring me

that he wasn't running.

My fears began to ease.

Then he pressed his lips to each

tragic imperfection.

Love and lust in equal measure

writhed within me.

His lips found mine, and

I

was

lost.

When we first touched,

I knew–

he was the one.

love poems
23

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Stewart7 months ago

    Such sultry and beautiful words!

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    "Dips and curves".. such beautiful words.

  • -Girl 🙋 , This Piece is on Fire 🔥 📝😉❤️💯👌

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Such a beautiful, well written poem.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    beautiful

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Subhi Najarabout a year ago

    very vivid! love it

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Beautiful! Sensuous! 🥰

  • Gideon 6ix2 years ago

    This is was a beautiful read- thank you for sharing!

  • Jonathan Townend2 years ago

    Such beauty portrayed through your poetry. The mental positivity undertones your words so pleasingly - well done😊❤️.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Pure love touch 🥰

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    That felt like a movie scene playing out. Vivid. Emotive!

  • Wow this is beautiful. I love it.

  • This was such a beautiful and lovely poem!

  • EJ Ferguson2 years ago

    There's a really emotive tone of vulnerability to this, it's wonderfully written. Well done!

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Beautiful love poem❤️

  • Beautiful words, I love your poetry and am snow subscribed

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Wonderful poem.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving it!!! Subscribed too!!💖💕

  • Beautiful!!!

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    Now that's how you write a love poem!!! Loved it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.