Poets logo

When I Sit Down To Eat

A New Horizon Poem

By H.L. DowlessPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I sit down to eat,

I think of the Lord's gifts of breath and feed,

as I sit down in my cushy seat,

when I sit down to eat.

When I sit down to eat,

the food tastes so good

that it goes right to my feet,

when I sit down to eat!

When I sit down to eat

my eggs become planes,

my grains become trains,

my peas become bees,

when I sit down to eat!

When I sit down to eat,

my Mumsy always sits down

right beside me in her seat.

Her spoon becomes the feet

that propels the train,

the bees and the bundles,

right into my mouth

that becomes the great big tunnel,

when I sit down to eat!

When I sit down to eat

I always become full,

for I have eaten the entire house,

the tub and the whole bull,

when I sit down to eat!

Yes with Mommy's help

I shall never be hungry,

for we always clasp

our hands to say thanks,

just to pray for the blessings

of others instead of ourselves,

when I sit down to eat!

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

H.L. Dowless

The author is an international ESL instructor. He has been a writer and author for ever thirty years. His latest publications were in the area of nonfiction with a company called Algora and fiction in Vinculink, or purchase through Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.