Poets logo

when i knew

under the spell of lying in bed with the one you love

By Rory DeMaioPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
when i knew
Photo by Mika Korhonen on Unsplash

portrait-drawn and wary,

i pushed

at your pull

until you spun threads so frayed

they looked like fire

through my cool fingers

and i woke to find them

on my pillow

and on my sleeves

i found what you knew

and carefully clipped

the loose ties,

pulling us under

a quilt

squared with intent and buoyed by

giddy hands,your

and my hands

which champion your brow

with a touch

to a golden temple

where thoughts of you-me-

Us

bend in

and

out

honeyed and warm

you’re (i’m?)

a vase to crack

to run fingers

along the velvet clay

under the glaze

i write these words

[because they’ve been glued

between my ribs

and nestled in my gums]

onto your neck

textured love-notes

rubbing syllables on your ears--

under your lashes,

you’ve got your insides,

and I can’t wait to see them

love poems
1

About the Creator

Rory DeMaio

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.