Poets logo

When Forever Says Goodbye

Roses are red, violets are blue, and I still can't sleep in a world without you.

By Jillian SpiridonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
When Forever Says Goodbye
Photo by Jakob Rosen on Unsplash

The shattered pieces of what we were hit me

with a punch-gut magnitude, quaking through

and wrecking all the memories we left behind

when you made your way out that door.

(You were so sure it was what you wanted,

and I never saw you turn a glance back.)

By Jan Tinneberg on Unsplash

Days could have passed, I don't know

(it's foggy when the love of your life

acts as if you were just a footnote

in the opening chapter of her life),

yet every day I waited for a call

just to hear your voice once more...

But you were gone, slipped away,

cleaner than a sleight of hand.

By Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I could have asked the questions,

I could have been a nuisance,

or I could have made life harder,

enough for you to strike back

in a legal retaliation in court—

but I'm not that kind of guy.

Isn't that why you decided to stay?

By @felipepelaquim on Unsplash

When you finally reappeared on socials,

you were a different kind of wild,

and you didn't care a whit about it—

not even that you had smashed apart

a good thing while it lasted, perfect

for a twosome to take on the world.

But reaching out was a mistake

because you had already deleted me

from even the digital prints of your life.

By dole777 on Unsplash

So what do I say when I pass by

and recognize you only months later,

your hand crooked in another guy's arm

as you flash him that smile I knew so well?

You don't even carry a glimpse my way,

and I let it happen because it's enough

to see you happy after our turmoil,

no matter how much I wished

I had been the one to be your forever.

By freestocks on Unsplash

Would you like to read more poetry from me? I have plenty over on my profile page, where I also post short fiction and articles, and you can follow me over on Twitter for more creative discourse. Please leave a heart if this work somehow resonated with you; any support is much appreciated!

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Jillian Spiridon

just another writer with too many cats

twitter: @jillianspiridon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.