Poets logo

When Did We Stop Being Friends?

A Rhetorical Question

By Erin ShannonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

When did we stop being friends?

Was it when distance between houses started to feel like distance between souls?

Was it when adolescence pitted us against each other for the first time?

Or was it when I reached to you for air and you just passed me off to the next lifeguard?

When did we stop being friends?

Was it when grades became more important than sneaking around at 2 AM?

Was it when your boyfriend started looking at me more than you?

Or was it because I took away the only boy that worshipped you even though he was nothing to you?

When did we stop being friends?

Was it when I finally made you into the man you so desperately wanted to be?

Was it when I repeatedly told you I just wanted to be friends?

Or was it when you didn't get enough attention when I finally came through my depression?

When did we stop being friends? Was it when I called you a bitch?

Called you a whore?

Called you... my ex-best friend?

Or was it before?

When you spread slander like fire, slow and dull at first then the next thing you know the town is coughing my name like it's smoke in their lungs?

I understand you know,

Why we stopped being friends.

It was because you couldn't handle my intensity.

I was a hurricane, but you were still just a storm.

Through no fault of your own you were still looking for your direction.

But what I don't understand,

Is why can't we be friends now?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Erin Shannon

A lost soul looking for direction. All things real. Sustainable living, Supernatural, and Self sabatoge. Kingston ON

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.