Poets logo

What Wasn’t Meant to Be

A Poem about First Love and Heartbreak

By The HeartAche PoetPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Sometimes I hate you


For taking away all that we never got to be


And there are days when I miss you
Wishing you had just chosen me



But most days I'm fine


I let go


You're not the one



But some days I'm weak


And wish you had never moved on



So let's go back in time


And replay what wasn't mean to be


When I was falling for you


But you were growing apart from me



I fell in love


Deep and hard for the first time


Never looking back


Had no questions


Needed no time



But you weren't so sure


There was something else on your mind


But I never knew


And you ghosted me in time



So I sent you those texts

I made all those calls


But you were gone


And left me with no answers at all



Later I saw


That you had found someone new


Turns out you were seeing her all along


And I just never knew



@theheartachepoet

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

The HeartAche Poet

Check out our Poetry Blog!

theheartachepoet.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.