Poets logo

What to do What to do

poem

By lady gagaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I was born

I ate

because I was hungry

and I slept

because I was tired

When I was five

I laughed and yelled

when I felt like it

then you grow

and your thoughts become

mature

How do I become prettier?

What do I eat to make my hips smaller?

and I wish my eyes were not so brown

All the while

the life you could have lived rushes by

like your thoughts are a car

and you are speeding through

constantly looking

for something that never seems to be there

Now ive died

crashing my car

going too fast

the wrong way

and I look down at myself

and think not of the size of my legs but rather of all the places they've taken me

look at those crinkles on my face

from all the smiling

the eyes that I have hated so dearly

that I see also in my fathers face that has loved me so kindly

I went back

started to live

my car paused at every rest stop

and I ate

because I was hungry

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

lady gaga

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.