Poets logo

What the soul wants

What the soul needs

By ReneePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
What the soul wants
Photo by Dario Veronesi on Unsplash

My soul belongs elsewhere

Where umber streets

Make serpentine twists

Where I feel transported back to a time

When nobody knew today's strives

Where my heart sings

And my lungs fill with ancient air

Where amber streetlamps

Burn a welcoming hue

Where I can see young boys ride their vintage bicycles

And a nonna who hangs her floral laundry above her balcony

This is where I used to live

Loud and extroverted

So completely opposite of my reserved mien

It was where I stood out

But in a way that I enjoyed

I want to be a foreigner again

Unique

Different

Appreciated

Here in my native land

I feel unwelcomed

Unwanted

A dime a dozen

Why are we born where we are?

Who decides our luck?

Do we really get what we deserve?

Certainly not

For there are so many who live unfair lives

May we all get to be in the place

That makes our hearts sing

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Renee

I live for unexpected experiences and good food! As a cultural-enthusiast and linguaphile, my studies and passions have taken me around the world. I teach English as a foreign language and I believe that language is beyond powerful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.