Poets logo

What Loving You Was Like

Cameron Bounds

By Cameron BoundsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Honestly, i don’t think i want to even write this poem.

Because as soon as I begin, I will fall for you all over again.

It’s ironic how much i loved you when i didn’t love myself.

I feel like all the words, all the phrases, everything you said,

Was all a sick joke.

Loving you felt good, and when i believed you loved me too, i felt okay.

But now i portray that i am okay,

Leaving spaces in the lines i say,

Hoping you can read between them.

Loving you was like breathing after drowning for your whole life,

Loving you was like living up to be what I wanted.

Loved back.

But now, since you left, i can’t seem to even think,

I get up and write about you,

I isolate myself from everyone hoping they won’t see me when I let my guard down.

I don’t even let my dogs in my room, because they can tell when i’m sad.

And i’m always sad.

I can’t eat,

I can’t sleep,

I can’t even begin to type what i want to say to you on the phone.

And if i do, i delete it all, careful not to press send because i would just die even more inside if you ever saw what i felt.

I won’t lie...i miss you with every inch of my heart.

And it hurts.

c.b.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Cameron Bounds

I was born in idaho. Growing up I was abused in many ways. And now that I approach adulthood, I struggle every day with PTSD and relationships. Therefore write it all out based on my experience. I would like to change lives with my poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.