Poets logo

What is identity?

Identity to me...

By ©I.M. "That Girl," Inure MusePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

What is identity? Well, I think it's being exactly who I want to be. A pretty rainbow; a colorful, strong, poised, beautiful arch. A free, lucid, living creation of the cosmos. Identity is your spirit, uncaged, unbound...free. That is, without society, or labels, to categorize or define me.

Identity is knowing, 'Who I am... really!"

I am 'That Girl' they muse and also, hurt and abuse. Or, at least, I was, until I changed the course of my path, and took the stones out of my shoes.

I am a human being.

Sweetie, you wouldn't believe the shit, trending worldwide, nevermind what's trending on the Twitter scene. Do you know what I mean? There's a mess of beings, struggling with identity. In fact, we're struggling with ourselves and even struggling with authority. We're often struggling with masks... when we're not struggling with priorities.

Damn! We're struggling with debt and struggling with belief. For real! We're even struggling to pay bills, in hopes of buying our relief. We're all struggling to strive. Unify.

And struggling to breathe, to stay alive.

What is identity?

It's finding yourself.

It's forgetting about your dependency on people, fame, money, and wealth.

Value your unique beauty, your life, and your health.

Identity is a blank slate. It's a book of your life, with you, as the author of your own destiny... instead of fate.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

©I.M. "That Girl," Inure Muse

Hi! I'm "That Girl Muse," author, artist, muse, poet, surrealist and spirit guide, who uses creativity as a means to heal the mind. Each poem's a lil' bit of Inure Muse's story @Find_the_muse & support my work. You can also book me online!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.