Poets logo

What I Want For You

What I Wish I Could Tell You

By TessPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
What I Want For You
Photo by photo-nic.co.uk nic on Unsplash

Some days I self-sabotage.

Everyone does it, whether they know it or not,

They do.

Some talk themselves down, push away, care too much. Some treat others badly, some just run.

It could be as loud as a door slam or as small as an eyebrow raise.

But we do it.

And I do it.

And after the fact, I often wonder why I ran so quickly from something so good for me.

The truth is, I think we do it to protect ourselves, because no matter how much we say we’re over something, we’ll never really be able to let go of the first person who hurt us and how they made us feel.

I hope one day, however, you meet someone who makes you forget every mean word that’s ever been said.

And no matter how hard you try to fall into your habits, they are still there, unconditionally kind and patient.

I hope you find someone who makes every precious moment of heartbreak worth it.

Because they’re out there,

Waiting for you too.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Tess

Embracing the possibility of abundant joy. Writer, traveler, avid coffee drinker, and cinephile.

Bachelor's Degree in Film, with a concentration in screenwriting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.