Poets logo

What I Thrive In

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’m aware I’m depressed

All too vividly so

Could describe it right now

But I doubt you would know

What it’s like

To be wholly

Consisted of woe

When you deal in the rest of your life

Absolutes

I see only the nevermore earth

It pollutes

When you subtly

Smother me

In my misfortune

I seek more of hunger’s

Diminutive portion

When all my hypocrisy

Leaves me exposed

I still seal it

And send it

In letters enclosed

In enveloping wallowing

In inequality

No justice, just

Guillotines to the policy

Peace

Is my least resist path

To the polity’s

Most extreme dream

Of utopian poverty

Calling me back

To the front once again

Where the trenches of mind

Can inspire the pen

To be brave for you

Soldiering on

For the cause,

For the left,

The young restless,

Eternal outlaws

Like an instinct

A feeling

To be more than man

So I guess, answer’s yes

I’m depressed

That I can

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.