Poets logo

What I mean when I say I'm a Blogger

A poem about entrepreneurship.

By Leah HarrisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I say "I'm a professional blogger." what I am really saying is that I am a professional multitasker.

Being a blogger has given me many titles...

I am a website designer.

A content creator.

I'm my own social media manager.

I work with other companies and negotiate prices for my work.

My time is money.

And I am in charge of my time.

I pull late nights and get up in the early a.m. to sit at my desk and work.

I'm a graphic designer and a marketer.

And I'm sometimes a photographer.

People don't always understand, and a lot think my job is a hobby.

But my job is anything but easy.

I think about work almost all the time.

Working from home, it can be hard to separate.

I still have deadlines,

and tasks that have to be done.

I write for Christmas in July,

advertising each season before it's actually begun.

At the end of the day though,

Blogging lets me fly.

It pays me to stay at home with my family

and pays me as hard as I decide to work.

I choose my pay rates, and I choose which outside jobs I take.

And while it can get lonely,

and my "coworkers" most I'll never meet face to face,

blogging has become my dream job,

and is something I'm so glad I embraced.

______________

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed this poem, try this article next:

Thank you so much for reading! If you liked this article, be sure to click the heart button. If you really liked this article, tips are greatly appreciated! You can find more articles from me here on my Vocal profile.

-Leah H.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Leah Harris

Writer, blogger and artist. Inspirations for writing are Markus Zusak and Tyler Knott Gregson. Follow me on Instagram! @LeahNaturally

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.