Poets logo

What Do You Have To Loose

Kate Marie

By Kate MariePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

What do I have to loose

Other than the shirt on my back

The shoes on my feet

Other than my young black brother

Or my toddler black nephews

Other than my house

Or my car

Provided by the little assistance I have to PROVE I need

Other than the black life I have to carefully live

What do I have to loose?

You say that loosely like my life don’t matter.

Other than my black business

Other than my black family

Other than my black life

Other than my black rights

What do I have to loose?

Other than my red bean pot

Other than my gumbo pot

Other than my New Orleans birth right

Other than my croele bloodline

Other than my babies that I haven’t birth yet

What do I have to loose

Do you really question what do I have to loose

I can’t explain what I’ve already lost

Yet you question WHAT ELSE do I have to loose

I’ve already lost my freedom and I’ve never even been imprisoned

What do I have to loose

PLEASE LIKE, COMMENT, & SHARE WITH YOUR FAMILY & FRIENDS!!!!!

✊🏾✊🏼🖤🖤🖤

#BLACKLIVESMATTER

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Kate Marie

I find release in writing. This next year, come learn who I am and how I’ve grown. New post every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday! Maybe something I’ve been through can help you grow too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.